It all began in 1918 when Adele Casagrande opened a leather and fur shop, with an attached laboratory, in the center of Rome in via del Plebiscito. In 1925 she married Edoardo Fendi giving life to the first Fendi shop for leather goods, umbrellas and furs. The first logo from 1925 was a squirrel, symbol of fur production, perched on a branch with a nut; it is said that her founder gave his wife a painting of a squirrel because he considered her “always busy”, just like the rodent. In 1946, upon Edoardo’s death, management continued with his wife and five daughters: Carla, Anna, Franca, Paola and Alda.

In 1965 the German photographer and stylist Karl Lagerfeld was called to direct the Roman maison by creating the iconic symbol composed of two Fs side by side with the second upside down. In reality, the monogram was an abbreviation of “Fun Furs” or “Fausse Fourrure” (funny furs) to underline the desire to revolutionize the world of fur thanks to the excellence of craftsmanship and innovative style. This is how he transformed fur, a symbol of social status in Italy at the time, from classic to modern. This graphic symbol achieved great success on the Italian and international market, starting the “made in Italy” phenomenon. From this brand an iconic (and widely counterfeited) pattern was born which, initially, was intended to serve as a lining for rigid travel trunks and was characterized by the refined contrast between tobacco and black shades, in a classic and timeless combination, alongside the striped and checkered design. Following the great success achieved, the motif instead of being used for linings, became the protagonist of bags and accessories. The logo was typeset in Helvetica capital letters.

Uninterruptedly since 1965, the creative direction of Karl Lagerfeld will be shared in 1992 with Silvia Venturini Fendi, Anna’s daughter. In 1992, the English graphic designer Marcello Minale made the brand more modern with a rebalancing of weight between the monogram and the logo, also to create a harmonious continuity of black and white. Rigorous and complete indications were provided for the application of the new visual identity on all products and communication tools.

In 1999 Fendi was acquired by LVMH and Prada; despite the sale, Fendi remained under the management of the family’s third generation daughters. In 2000, a slight restyling gave weight only to the logotype, here with the letters widely spaced from each other, relegating the double FF symbol to prints on fabrics and leather only, perhaps because in the new millennium there was a need to be less “flashy”.

In 2013 there was a restyling of the logo with only a softer and more rounded character together with the pay-off “ROMA”; the black color was confirmed, which symbolizes elegance together with yellow, already used in the Thirties, which indicates happiness and optimism. This graphic operation was in line with the minimalist trend that wanted the brand to be “modern” in the eyes of millennials. In 2015 Fendi moved its offices to one of the most emblematic structures in Rome: the “Palazzo della Civiltà Italiana”. Fendi’s choice reflects the maison’s desire to pay homage to its heritage and, at the same time, to look towards the future.